Which Comes First, the Bad Mood or the Pain?

Last night I sat on a couch for a few hours while hanging out with friends and then got home and paid dearly for it. I can do it without a problem. In the moment sitting is uncomfortable but not painful. I just shift a lot. It’s afterwards that the pinch hits and sends me into mini seizures of pain.

It’s after I get out of the car or off my bike that I stand completely frozen knowing the slightest movement will send excruciating pain down the length of my body. It’s when I’m lying in bed thinking I’ll go completely insane from just one more day of this and I can’t get comfortable enough to fall asleep.

I sat on a couch like a normal person for two hours and it washed away every inch of physical progress I’ve made.

When I got into bed I sang through my favorite chant, Ray Man Shabad, and as I did that the pain began to dissipate. I kept it up for fifteen minutes until I was able to somewhat relax. The second I stopped chanting though, I started worrying about not having health insurance, how back surgery would bankrupt me, the debt I’ve racked up on my credit card just to pay for the acupuncture, chiropractor and massage… the pain came back immediately. I was literally writhing. Calming down soothed the pain, stressing out brought it back again.

I don’t know what any of this means. I think when I started this cleanse I had a vain hope that I could pray my way back to health. Now on Day 25, feeling just as bad as I did on Day 1, that seems like a totally ludicrous idea.

2 thoughts on “Which Comes First, the Bad Mood or the Pain?”

  1. While your health is not yet where you want it, don’t lose hope. There are some who believe with the cleanse the bad toxins create more pain as they exit your body — that it will get worse before it begins to get better. I don’t think the idea that you could pray and cleanse your way to health is far fetched or ludicrous . . . . quite possibly “health,” however, won’t look as you think it should. Big hugs — I, too, wish i could take the pain away for you.

    Like

  2. As my acupuncturist told me the last time I was searching for the emotional/spiritual roots behind my own pain issue, “Sometimes pain is just pain. Sometimes our bodies just don’t work the way we want them to.” I can so relate to what you’re feeling. Wish I could take the pain away for you.

    Like

I'd love to connect! Please leave a comment and share:

