Train

Seattle –> Portland. What up Amtrak wifi!

Just dropped the car off at Matson for shipment to Honolulu. Three hours of driving yet only two minutes of paperwork. Signing over your car and handing in the keys doesn’t take as much time as you might think it would.

“This is nerve racking,” I mumbled.

“Yah,” said the guy as he pointed out where to park. “Just pull in behind the blue truck and leave your keys on the seat.”

And that was that. It didn’t even take long for the taxi to arrive and whisk me off to the Amtrak station. In a few hours I’ll be back home but it will feel different. I’ll be without my most expensive and prized possession. My car is number two on the very short list of things I’ve decided to take with me, second only to my pets.

This process of moving very far away by oneself is an interesting one. I had my last day at the grocery store on Sunday and tomorrow is my last day at the hotel. I’ve secured a vacation rental for two weeks from a guy who is also a realtor and will help me find an apartment once I get there. I’ve got my first line on a possible job at a fruit smoothie/fresh juice café.

Farewell festivities in Portland have begun. One last hurrah at 80’s Video Dance Attack, pedicures and lunch with my writing group ladies, a dinner planned for this weekend when my family is here.

Everything is falling into place yet there is still so much uncertainty, self-created uncertainty.

I’ve had so much success and fun figuring out how to live at peace within the general uncertainty of life that I find myself more and more excited for the possible adventures out there. I love it when things feel nerve racking, I crave being a little bit on edge. That’s how I felt every night when I did the live show with Blue Man and now since I don’t have a job constantly putting me in that position, I’m doing it myself: provided we all pay attention everything will most likely go smoothly, but you just never know what surprises might occur…

The air of uncertainty can be stressful or a heck of a lot of fun. As with everything in life, we get to choose our perspective.

1 thought on “Train”

  1. May your sense of adventure help you find every single gift this move has to offer you. Sending my love and blessings with you as you travel.

Leave a Reply

