Mornings With My Mug

One side says, “follow your heart.” The other, “the universe knows.” The mug is red so it matches my other dishes, all three of them. I still don’t drink coffee but it’s the exact perfect size for my morning smoothie. How did she know to get it for me? Where did she even find it?

Doesn’t matter. She just did.

Each morning since I arrived I’ve been up at six AM. I jog with Tobi, sometimes even Banjo. We found a park where they can wrestle about a fifteen-minute walk from the house. Then I sit with my mug and a homemade pineapple coconut smoothie and I listen to the birds talk to each other.

These days are filled with resume updates, LinkedIn profiles, trolling craigslist and walking up and down Kalakaua Avenue attempting to apply in person at each of the myriad hotels that line Waikiki. I can say it’s better than that horrendously rainy day last December when I drove all around the Portland metro area filling out applications at every Trader Joe’s. The sun is shining. I get to walk and look at the ocean. However it feels less productive.

I know in most cases regarding progress I qualify as the world’s least patient person, but my truth in this moment is that two of my credit cards are maxed out and I’m buying groceries with the third never-to-be-used-except-in-an-emergency one. There’s very little cash but there’s also no giving up. I couldn’t afford to fly myself home even if I needed to.

I keep Eckhart Tolle’s words as close to my daily conscience as possible. I’m paraphrasing here but the gist is: you have to deal with your problems, but you don’t have to worry about them. It may be a simple idea, but it has helped me more than anything anyone else has ever said or written. So I jog and I sip and I send resume after resume after resume.

I believe this is going to work out even better than I initially imagined. We still have no idea what’s going to happen tomorrow, right? So why not spend our time thinking about how everything could turn out perfectly?

4 thoughts on “Mornings With My Mug”

  1. So why not spend our time thinking about how everything could turn out perfectly?

    ****
    Why not indeed. I needed to read this today Jennifer — thanks. Know that I’m thinking about you and that I trust and believe everything will turn out better than you imagine. Continue to see the wonderfulness of where you are — and I don’t just mean physically…although that’s pretty spectacular too.

  2. I’m finally getting caught up on your blogs. I’m so happy you’re enjoying the mug and it’s message. It matches your other dishes?? That’s so perfect. I think about you quite often, especially when I’m drinking tea in the morning and attempting to write. Josh and I drove by Common Grounds the other day…and I felt a bittersweet pang in my heart… miss you!

Leave a Reply

