Let the Games Begin

How crazy that last year on this day I was eating food for the first time in forty days. That juice fast undoubtedly set me on a course of more awareness and appreciation. I will forever be grateful for the lessons it taught me and the strength it helped me build.

Today I’m excited to be setting out on a new journey. I’ve had fun these last few days planning my month of Oahu adventures. The backpack is filled with the essentials: protein bars, water bottles, sunscreen, travel bowls for the pups and my digital camera (one of very few things I decided not to sell before moving here).

Most of my information will be coming from two sources: Lonely Planet’s Honolulu, Waikiki & Oahu, 4th Edition and Oahu Hikes, The Best Hikes and Walks on the Island by Yvonne Harris. This is an excellent book for visual people like me who really like colors and maps and pictures.

I’ll also have the Audubon Society’s guide to Hawaii’s Birds on hand, a treasured good luck gift from a dear friend in Portland.

There’s a lot to do and see here so, while hiking is my true passion, I won’t be limiting myself to trails. Some days will focus on history and culture, others on food and entertainment and still others on sports and recreation.

I’ll be zig zagging to places all over the island in no particular order. Here’s a map for your reference (it becomes clearer if you click on it):

Here’s to new adventures! Thanks again for following along!

LOVE!

2 thoughts on “Let the Games Begin”

  1. Lovely Jenny! It is so exciting for me to know you are all the way out there setting off on this journey. Hooray! I am looking forward to following you virtually! Be safe and embrace the adventure.

    PS: What is the Hawaiian name for bird?

    Like

I'd love to connect! Please leave a comment and share:

