Waikiki

Day 24

Destination: Kalakaua Avenue, Waikiki

Focus: Walking tour, Tourist area, Beach

Soundtrack for the walk: Whatever suits your fancy

Quote of the Day: We can only be said to be alive in those moments when our hearts are conscious of our treasures ~ Thornton Wilder

It’s business as  usual in Waikiki today. You’d never know it was Thanksgiving from the looks of things.

Working a ten hour shift at a hotel full of international tourists who do not celebrate Thanksgiving is not what I’m thankful for today. This is the first time I’ve ever worked on this holiday and it’s bumming me out. Honestly just being in Hawaii feels wrong today.

In the spirit of not wallowing in self pity I shall take you on a walking tour of Kalakaua Avenue and Waikiki to highlight some of the loveliness I get to experience on a daily basis. Starting at my hotel which is at the far end close to the zoo and walking west, first up is what’s right across the street.

On most days I get frozen yogurt from YogurtLand (they say it’s fat free!) and sit on a bench facing the ocean for my lunch hour. It’s relaxing to watch the waves come in and see everyone playing around. Every time I sit out here with the sun shining down on my face I remember to be thankful that I’m not on vacation like everyone else. I get to stay.

I like the architecture on this street. It’s very modern and clean. The streets are incredibly clean here too. I actually sat down on a sidewalk to eat once.

Ukulele is very popular.

As is shave ice.

The boulevard is wide, freshly paved and lined with palm trees on both sides.

It’s a shopper’s paradise with every major outlet you can think of.

Down a ways is the International Market Place full of tchotchkes and tacky trinkets. There is a store dedicated entirely to magnets and another for flip flops.

The saving grace of this place is that it exists under this completely awesome tree:

And it is home to this completely awesome fruit smoothie counter:

A mango pineapple helps wash away my desire to strangle my boss today. He is officially not the nice guy he made himself out to be, but instead a big dumb jerk. But I digress…

Outside the market there’s a steel drum player and this guy:

And at the far end is the famous pink Royal Hawaiian Hotel with its gorgeous tropical landscaping.

This concludes our walking tour. I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did. Aloha and Happy Thanksgiving!

Dang that’s a lot of surfboards!

2 thoughts on “Waikiki”

  1. One of the big bummers of the service industry is working Holidays. I’m not sure what’s worse, being around customers who aren’t celebrating or around people who ARE celebrating. I remember on Thanksgiving and Easter hating each person who dined with us because all I wanted to do was go home and celebrate with my friends and family. We never received holiday pay to make up for it because we were simply expected to be there like any other day. It can drive you to bitterness over the years. But when you own your own place you get to decide what your holiday policies will be. And if you choose to work, you can participate in the festivities instead of having to slave over people. Will you be working over Christmas too??

    Like

I'd love to connect! Please leave a comment and share:

