Ho’omaluhia Botanical Garden

Day 28

Destination: Five alive! Ho’omaluhia Botanical Garden is the last of the Honolulu Gardens to be visited and the biggest. It sits on 400 acres on the windward side next to the Kaneohe Forest Reserve. In fact it’s right across the Kam Highway from my house so I like to consider it my backyard.

Focus: Botanical Garden, Nature, Camping

Soundtrack for the drive: Snatam Kauer, Ra Ma Da Sa on repeat

Quote of the Day: When one tugs at a single thing in nature, one finds it attached to the rest of the world ~ John Muir

Ho’omaluhia Botanical Garden is a combination garden walk, fishing pond and campground with facilities. There aren’t a lot of flowers here but the trees are fantastic and the setting quite lovely with the mountains rising up on the back side.

Seriously, who wouldn’t want to camp here?

And how is this not the best spot for a picnic table ever?

There is a paved drive that is lovely when driven down very slowly and somehow even lovelier with Snatam Kauer lulling me into peaceful bliss. It feels like I’m on a nature ride in a far away land which I guess, come to think of it, is exactly what this is. The only thing that would make it better is if I was in a slow moving open air tram car like the one I could have paid a gazillion dollars to ride at the Dole Plantation instead of in the Outback. But then I couldn’t have these two goobers with me.

Today I’m enjoying telling myself this is the road I’ll jog on next year when I give running a real go.

 

Lesson remembered: Spend more time in the backyard.

1 thought on “Ho’omaluhia Botanical Garden”

Leave a Reply

