Happy New Year

New Year’s Day is my favorite holiday. The fresh starts and resolutions make me giddy, the possibility of everything that lies in store. Last night I was thankfully sober and quiet. I rang in the new year in a way that made me feel truly positive, strong and filled with peace.

I have so many exciting things to look forward to in 2012. Friday I walked away from my douche bag boss. I almost made it out the door without telling him how I felt but not quite. He had made snide comments about the new job I got so I let him in on a few secrets – the higher salary, 40 hours instead of 50, overtime pay, a company that is consistently ranked as one of the top 100 best to work for – then I clued him in to how it felt to work with him and how the job did not pan out as he said it would. Suffice it to say he was not pleased.

There’s a part of me that wishes I hadn’t ended things sourly and another part that appreciates speaking my truth (in a way that was not nearly as telling or harsh as it could have been) and walking towards greener pastures with my head held high. The thing I’m most excited about with the new position is that I not only enjoyed meeting the managers I’ll be working with, but I found them to be people I can look up to and learn from.

Learning is my biggest resolution this year, along with running a marathon and finding some nugget of enjoyment in the ocean (or at least a bit of exhilaration in replace of fear).

I hope you all had an enjoyable, safe and happy new year’s eve. Here’s to a phenomenal 2012 for all!

LOVE!

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year”

  1. I’m proud of you for standing up for yourself. Perhaps that was the wake up call your douche bag boss needed to hear. Or perhaps he’ll remain a douche bag. Either way, you spoke the truth. And I’m so excited about your new job!!

    Which marathon are you going to run this year?? I’ve done a couple in the past and highly recommend Jeff Galloway’s book called “Marathon, You Can Do It”. Corny title, good information. His run-walk method has helped me to achieve my best time with no injuries. Also, I’ve hear that Zen Running is good (I haven’t read it personally but I’ve heard good things).

    Looking forward to hearing about your adventures!!

  2. You go! I admire so much how good you are at speaking your truth and taking care of yourself. Looking forward to following your adventures into this new year.

Leave a Reply

