Six Weeks And Counting

Am I just a complete and total moron? Amidst the excitement of my new found passion I went and signed up for the Hawaii Pacific Health Women’s 10K. At the beginning of March. As in six weeks from now. The event will be held the day after my 34th birthday actually.

I signed up for this race, paid my entry fee and then did a Google search for respectable run times for a 10K. Anyone wanna guess?

45 minutes. 45 fucking minutes. The race starts at 7am and the awards ceremony is at 8:15am. I just assumed this would be an all day event not something to accomplish before breakfast! I thought we’d all take a few hours to meander through the streets of Kahala and the lovely Diamond Head neighborhood, take in the scenery, pat each other on the back for the sweet 13 minute mile pace we’re all keeping up. Because that’s what I can do folks. I’ve inched my way up to two miles without keeling over and it takes me 26 minutes, yeehaw!

Don’t fret, I’m kidding and I know better than to really worry. While I don’t enjoy sucking at things, I can accept the reality that this is going to be a long haul in which I will have no choice but to be the underdog.

I started reading Haruki Murakami’s book What I Talk About When I Talk About Running and right from the first few pages he struck a chord with me. He writes, “I’m not totally uncompetitive. It’s just that… beating somebody else doesn’t do it for me. I’m much more interested in whether I reach the goals that I set for myself.”

This race gives me a specific goal to work towards and that goal is simple: cross the finish line. It’s not gonna be pretty. It’s not gonna happen in under an hour. But at some point on March 4th, 2012 I will cross the finish line of my first 6.2 mile/10K run.

Time to hunker down with my beginning runner training guide and the sport watch with the timer on it that I picked up for 12 bucks at Target today. Wish me luck!

4 thoughts on “Six Weeks And Counting”

  1. GOAL: cross the finish line….excellent, what more can you ask of yourself?
    Meet your goal and be proud of your accompishment. I know you can do it. You have shown time and again that when you want something you work for it with almost a tunnel vision attitude and then succeed. I have no doubt that you will do just that.

  2. Oh Jenny, you can do this! Please don’t be discouraged by the “respectable” times and the early award ceremony. First of all, those “respectable” times are garbage. It’s all about finishing and the self respect and confidence you gain by doing just that. Second, the awards are for crazy people, like Kenyans. They train by out-running lions, barefoot and shit. So mere mortals like us cannot even begin to compare.

    If the race is anything like every one I’ve ever been in, you’re gonna see people of all sizes, shapes and abilities…don’t let those Kenyans get in your head. 🙂

    Also, I love that you’re reading Murakami. I started reading his latest book and have his running book on my list for this year. He’s awesome.

    I can’t wait to hear about your race!!

Leave a Reply

