An Open Letter to the Universe

Dear Universe,

It’s one thing to have no electricity. And it’s one thing to have no hot water. And cockroaches, sure, we all have our fair share of disgusting-apartments-overrun-with-bugs-stories. I mean, come on, I lived in New York City for six years. Soul sucking difficult “situations” at work… yep we’ve all been there too.

But to have all four, a quadruple whammy, simultaneously during the worst weather this island has seen in years… (We had a tornado!) For the cockroaches to be of multiple species, shapes and sizes, running out from every corner at a pace not even commercial grade chemicals could keep up with… For the girl at work to spew such off-the-charts levels of hatred at me for things that were completely out of my control… For it to go on for three of the longest loneliest most upended weeks of my life…

Let’s just say it was a little much and I came within inches of cracking up. Now I’m a responsible person and I made it to the other side. A new completely perfect apartment was located and moved into. Furry mouths were fed. Salaries earned and iPhone bills paid. Appearances were kept up because, as I’m sure you can understand, one is simply not allowed to complain about anything when one lives in paradise. But I need to say this: I’m tired of coming within inches. I’m tired of having no one to come home to!

Let me get to my point. I would like to say Thank You, from the bottom of my heart, for teaching me how to stand unafraid and accomplish everything I could ever want to do all on my own. Now please let me learn how to really share my beautiful life with a beautiful somebody. Let me have help and allow me to help another. I’ve discovered miracles that I don’t want to keep to myself.

You have my new address. Send him my way as soon as you are able.

Yours truly,

Jennifer

2 thoughts on “An Open Letter to the Universe”

  1. Just catching up. What a month you’ve had! And yet you can still make us laugh (while we’re crying with you). Wish I could be there to take you to breakfast and commiserate with you and hug you. Love.

    Like

I'd love to connect! Please leave a comment and share:

