Born To Run

I’m doing the best I can to get back into my two-mile a day routine but, to be honest, it’s a struggle. Running regularly for two months then taking a month off doesn’t really work when you’re a beginning runner. I’m back to square one and it’s not pretty.

So I’m leaning on Christopher McDougall, el Caballo Blanco and the Tarahumara indians of Mexico’s Copper Canyon for motivation. I’m happy to report that it’s working.

Thirty pages into the book Born To Run I’m already in love with the author’s humor and bravery in the face of adventure as he sets off to find the world’s greatest distance runners in the treacherously isolated canyons of the Sierra Madres and the mysterious outsider who penetrated their territory and was adopted into their culture.

Strange timing that the day I picked up the book and started to read was the day Micah True (Caballo Blanco) was found dead in the desert of New Mexico. His story is fascinating to me and I look forward to learning more about this real life legend. I hope wherever he is now he still gets to run.

For more on Micah True, el Caballo Blanco, check out this Boulder Weekly article: http://www.boulderweekly.com/article-8193-chasing-the-white-horse.html

I'd love to connect! Please leave a comment and share:

