Battle Scar

I had my dysplastic nevus removal procedure on Tuesday and got to take the bandage off this morning. So far in my life I’ve had about a dozen moles shaved off and three dug out. Obviously “dug out” is not the official medical term but it’s what it feels like to me. One was on my face and I had it removed for cosmetic reasons (and yes they make you pay for that). The second was taken off my abdomen by recommendation of my old NYC dermatologist.

I can’t help but wonder now if that abdominal removal was very early prevention or if there was a legitimate concern that something had already gone awry back then. I was in my twenties still feeling indestructible so clearly not paying attention.

The incision and imminent scar for this one on my shoulder is the biggest yet. The cut is longer than I expected, about 2”. There’s some swelling from the stitches; it kinda looks like I got punched. Another battle scar to add to the mix. Pathology report is due back a week from Monday and everyone expects a clean bill of health.

I hate to be preachy, but I’m gonna jump on a soapbox for just a split second here. If you’ve never seen a dermatologist just go for the heck of it and if you have moles or anything that looks funky and irregular, go often. It is highly unlikely that you would have to have anything carved out of you, equally unlikely that anything would actually be wrong, but still…

According to The Skin Cancer Foundation:

~ Skin cancer is the most common form of cancer in the United States. More than 3.5 million skin cancers in over two million people are diagnosed annually.

~ Each year there are more new cases of skin cancer than the combined incidence of cancers of the breast, prostate, lung and colon.

~ One in five Americans will develop skin cancer in the course of a lifetime.

~ Over the past 31 years, more people have had skin cancer than all other cancers combined.

~ Melanoma accounts for less than five percent of skin cancer cases, but it causes more than 75 percent of skin cancer deaths.

In the fantastically uplifting words of my new fave go-to gal Kris Carr, “Prevention is hot!”

For more information go to www.skincancer.org

1 thought on “Battle Scar”

  1. Catching up after some time away from blogs, and I find you with a honkin’ wound on your shoulder. I’m so glad it’s supposed to be okay – am sending prayers your way. I hope all else is well with you. I miss you!

    Like

I'd love to connect! Please leave a comment and share:

