Preparation, part un

Woke up before dawn, made a pineapple coconut smoothie, stubbed my toe before even putting my shoes on and jogged/walked 15.5 miles from my house, through Kahala, around Diamond Head and back.

It took three hours and hurt like hell. My toe is purple and maybe a little crooked. My right knee is a bundle of holy fucking ouch. My head is thinking, “What the hell is wrong with you? You can’t possibly run a 26.2 mile marathon in two months!”

But let’s look at the bright side, shall we? I never got winded or overheated. My energy remained high. I’m confident I could have run the entire way if not for the toe/knee debacle. And holy crap I went over 15 miles today!

No one ever said marathon training would be easy.

3 thoughts on “Preparation, part un”

Leave a Reply

