Hunkerin’ Down!

My sweet friend Diana, who recently killed it in her first 50 mile ultra, innocently asked – Are you following a training plan? I’ve been too embarrassed to respond because the answer is no, not even close. It was her question that made me realize I haven’t been taking this seriously. Sure I’ve been writing about it for almost a year, musing about what it would mean for me, taking a jog every now and then. But no, I have most definitely not been approaching this from the standpoint of an actual runner who actually wants to run.

It didn’t take much research to discover Hal Higdon, who appears to be the grandfather of marathon running. Considering he’s run 111 of them, and even won a few, I figure he knows what he’s talking about. So I’m diving into the second half of his 18-week Novice 1 Training Program. Obviously I should have started this 11 weeks ago, but whatever, I’m an idiot, I got distracted by mental bullshit, I am where I am and this is what I can do so I’m going to do it.

Here it is, as you can see I’ll pretty much be running at least a half marathon every weekend until the race on December 9th, yikes!

As for the knees, Diana also mentioned IT band straps. I found them at the running store and actually got a patella knee band as well. They wrap around your leg either above or below your knee depending on the specific pain you feel. I have a foam roller sitting in the corner of my living room just waiting to be used on my IT band – it’s the perfect example of just how stuck in my head I tend to get. I got the roller in 2010 when I finally had health insurance and started seeing a PT and a chiropractor for my 2009 back/hip injury. Knowing full well how important it is for me to use it regularly I found room in my suitcase to move it all the way to Hawaii! And yet… it just sits there in the corner getting dusty.

I can continue to waste time and make myself crazy or I can hunker down and take this seriously. I’m ready to stop thinking and start working. Wish me luck!

3 thoughts on “Hunkerin’ Down!”

  1. Just checking in to see how you’re doing. I hope this large gap in posts means you’re rocking NaNoWriMo. I think of you often. Miss you. Is Seattle really your possible next home? Love to you.

    Like

I'd love to connect! Please leave a comment and share:

