Suze Orman Would Slap Me

Remember that epiphany I had a few weeks back about how this is the year I’m going to pay down my debt? Yah so about that…

Maybe the other day I was perusing Craigslist for a stationary bike trainer and maybe I happened upon a Cannondale road bike for sale. Perhaps against my better judgment I met the guy, took the bike for a spin, fell in love with it and bought it on the spot. That, in and of itself, wouldn’t be a terrible thing considering I talked the guy down and sold my hybrid the very next day for more than I paid for the road bike. Risky, yes, but it all worked out. Suze would be proud.

Thursday night at practice Coach C put new tires on it, for free no less. He said I can pay him back in beer. Again Suze would concur, a good deal for shizzle.

No, the reason she would rightfully slap me started today when I got the new bike tuned up and succumbed to everyone’s insistence that I get cycling shoes and clipless pedals. In truth I didn’t spend very much (Coach C scored me a free pair of used shoes which miraculously fit perfectly) but now I want everything. I finally understand what BC means when she says she doesn’t give a damn about cars but could talk about bicycles all day. This does not bode well for my budget.

I practiced on the store’s trainer for a while taking my feet out of the clips and placing them back in without looking down as best I could. Coach C sat on the floor giving me pointers and making adjustments. Having this one-on-one time with him, getting a chance to study his face and have his full attention, I started to realize just how much I admire (and inherently trust) this man. At one point he had my foot in his hand and all thoughts disappeared from my brain. I was just there with him hoping he would never let it go.

I could have stayed on that trainer all night but that would have been uncouth. After twenty minutes or so I packed up, checked out and was on my way. Coach C put my bike in the back of my car and confirmed that he’d see me at practice tomorrow. As he headed towards the store he turned and asked, “Beer soon?”

“I owe you dinner now,” I replied with a grin.

He smiled and said, “That’s a good thing!”

Suze Orman be damned. I am happy and spending money on an activity I’m becoming passionate about, one that will bring me health and joy. And OMIGOD I GO SO MUCH FASTER NOW!

One thought on “Suze Orman Would Slap Me”

  1. I am so excited for you! Having a hobby that gets you out there is rewarding! Just think…you can make travel plans based on ride-ability now!

    Like

I'd love to connect! Please leave a comment and share:

