Sweet New Rituals for Life

It’s quite possible that the most important thing I learned at the Tony Robbins seminar was this: I simply cannot jump up & down and raise the roof without smiling. And furthermore, jumping up & down and raising the roof while simultaneously being depressed/angry/ annoyed/frustrated/sad/upset/guilty/enter-any-negative-emotion-here-that-you-want… can be done by no one. It is impossible.

That probably sounds flippant. Really Jen, you spent $600 on a ticket and flew cross-country to pump your hands in the air?

Umm… Yah 🙂

I will drop hints of every nugget I learned from that gigantic force of nature to anyone who will listen every day for the rest of my life. And a lot of it is going to sound simple. The specifics of the actions we choose to make us happy are individual and somewhat irrelevant. It’s the strategy of waking up every day and doing them over and over and over to break old patterns, condition our minds and set new standards that matters.

I have a long list of new daily To Do’s but my morning ritual is by far my favorite. Immediately upon waking I’m priming myself for an amazing day with a breathing exercise similar to Kundalini Breath of Fire and ten minutes of gratitude meditation, followed immediately by a mini-dance party to Flo Rida’s Club Can’t Even Handle Me with hella roof raising.

I dare you to try it and tell me you can do it without laughing.

And that moment of laughing and happy and life is good – that’s called a Peak State. That’s where I want to live.

So much of what we eat and think brings us down or holds us at a steady low without us even noticing. We know the phrases “We are what we eat” and “What we think we become.” But how often do we attack our status quo with healthy food and healthy thoughts? And don’t we feel better every single time we do?

At the seminar I resolved to take the sugar out of my diet and sprinkle it into my life one happy gesture and thought at a time. So far it’s been the best decision of my life.

1 thought on “Sweet New Rituals for Life”

Leave a Reply

