A Poem For the Masses

A few months back I wrote a post about all the shit women hear day in and day out for the entirety of their lives about how they should look and how they should feel. I took the nineteen that I hear the most often myself and listed them as A Poem From the Masses, something other people wrote for me that I really had nothing to do with.

Since attending Tony Robbins’ seminar one of the most effective changes I’ve made has been switching up my iTunes playlist, especially when I’m at the gym. I never listened to my own music at the gym actually and now I can’t imagine not doing it. My workouts have improved tenfold as has my overall excitement for life.

Not all pop stars are created equal. There’s a mess of self-involved crap out there but there’s also a ton of talent that gets overlooked by folks who generally prefer NPR podcasts to anything upbeat and mainstream. (I’m pointing at myself here.) But as you can imagine, Tony is very specific about what he plays at his events. It’s not just a blurry mix of auto-tuned Pop-Tarts. These songs are strategically placed and, if you let them, they really get you thinking happy thoughts.

We all know the catchy choruses of most Top 40 songs, but have you slowed down to catch the golden nuggets in the verses?

Here I give you nineteen of my favorites. A Poem FOR the Masses, written to express how I see my place in the world and what I reach for on a daily basis, regardless of all the haters who I have really come to understand are indeed going to hate.

Don’t try to sing, just read. SO MUCH LOVE ❤

After a hurricane comes a rainbow
Maybe a reason why all the doors are closed: so you could open one that leads you to the perfect road
This road leads where your heart is
It’s always been inside of you and now it’s time to let it through
Life will never be the same
There’s nothing wrong with loving who you are
Lose an inhibition, follow your intuition, free your inner soul and break away from tradition
Rejoice and love yourself today, ’cause baby you were born this way
You hear my voice, you hear that sound, like thunder gonna shake the ground
I went from zero to my own hero
I see the future, but live for the moment
I see this life like a swinging vine, swing my heart across the line
Seek it out and ye shall find
Everything that drowns me makes me wanna fly
And I feel something so right by doing the “wrong” thing
Let’s break right out of these gilded cages
Let’s stop time and enjoy this moment
Celebrate cause that’s all I know
We’ll never let them change us

Pay attention to what you let into your ears and eyes. It will change your view of the world in a really beautiful way. Here’s a link to my new playlist. Enjoy!

I'd love to connect! Please leave a comment and share:

