Planning is the Death of Adventure

Someone famous must have said that, right?

It’s time to check off the Go on an Adventure box from my 2017 Action Plan. On Monday I fly to Cork, Ireland where I’ll start tackling the Wild Atlantic Way by bicycle. The 2,500 kilometer coastal route, from Kinsale in the south to Londonderry in the north, will take me the entire month of August to complete.

As with a few other things I’ve attempted in life, I don’t really know what I’m in for. I love it this way. And I sense myself getting braver and trying bigger and better things the older I get. Or should I say, the more times I survive whatever I try?

For the most part, my preparation for this month-long cycling trek has come down to relying on the amazing guys at Wild Atlantic Cycling to create maps I can download to the RideWithGPS app on my phone. I have a destination and an accommodation for each day and, all thanks to Noel Boyce and Paul Kennedy, I have a map to get me to each one.

That’s it. That’s as far as the plan goes.

The Wild Atlantic Way is heavily traveled, so I’m not running naked out into the forest here, but most people who ride on it do so in small sections for a week or so at a time. It’s rare for someone to cover the whole route in one swoop; in fact I couldn’t find a single tour company that did so. That’s not going to stop me. It’s just going to mean I do most of it on my own. I get to ride with Noel for a few days at the beginning and with a large group for one exciting day towards the middle. The rest of the month will be a solo journey through some of the most beautiful countryside in the world.

So wish me luck and come along for the ride by subscribing to the blog. It promises to be spectacular!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Planning is the Death of Adventure”

I'd love to connect! Please leave a comment and share:

